IOD Jersey Winners: The Dirty Dozen 2016

IOD Jersey Winners: The Dirty Dozen 2016


Twelve individuals in Jersey spanning the public, private and voluntary sectors were recognised for their outstanding achievements and leadership qualities as winners at a black tie awards event on Friday last week.

For just the second time in their seven-year history, the awards included a Lifetime Achievement Award which was presented to former chief executive of the Channel Television Group, former Chairman of Jersey Telecom, founder member of Jersey Finance and former Chairman of the Tourism Shadow Board John Henwood MBE. Accepting the award, he gave an inspiring talk calling on all Jersey organisations to focus on high quality leadership. Colin Powell is the only other recipient of an IoD Jersey Lifetime Achievement Award, presented with the accolade in 2013.

There were also awards for leaders of small, medium and large organisations as well as in the public and third sector, and awards to recognise academic achievement through the Chartered Director programme. The student winner of the IoD Work Shadowing Programme 2015 was also presented with an award. The full list of winners is:

Lifetime Achievement Award:
John Henwood MBE

Small Organisation Director of the Year:
Alex Morel, ALX Training

Medium Organisation Director of the Year:
Glenda Rivoallan, Healthhaus

Large Organisation Director of the Year:
Doug Bannister, Ports of Jersey

Young Director of the Year:
Richard Summerfield, JT Group

Public/Third Sector Director of the Year:
Lesley Harrison, Prison! Me! No Way!!!

‘Global Director of the Year:
Eamon Fenlon, Jersey Dairy

IoD Work Shadowing Programme Student Award:
Amy Vatcher

Chartered Director Awards:
Darragh McDermott, JT Group (Chartered Director Award 2015);
Mary Curtis, Calmera Consultancy (Chartered Director Award 2016)

The event was once again hosted by guest speaker, renowned writer, broadcaster, former MP, Government Whip and Jersey expert Gyles Brandreth. The judging panel for the Awards was chaired by Chris Clark, CEO, Prosperity 24.7 and also included Colin Macleod, CEO, Co-Op, Claire Boscq-Scott, CEO, The Busy Queen Bee, Dr Andrew Mitchell, Consultant Cardiologist, and Nigel Le Quesne, Group Chairman & CEO, JTC Group.

A total of 21 different senior professionals and directors had initially been shortlisted across all categories for the Awards, which are designed to celebrate the achievements of individuals and recognise excellence in the business community.

Michael Cushing, Jersey Managing Partner, Appleby, said: “Appleby has been a supporter of these awards since their inception in 2010. This year demonstrated once again that not only are there some exceptionally strong leaders in Jersey but also that the island benefits from genuine depth in top quality management. All of the finalists and ultimate winners this year are extremely talented individuals who have shown a commitment to success through determination and innovation, qualities that will be vital as Jersey continues to assert itself as a leading business centre internationally and also a fantastic place to live.”

Wendy Dorman, Chair, IoD Jersey, added: “Once again we had a fantastic turnout for our annual awards, emphasising that there is a real desire in Jersey to recognise inspirational leaders and celebrate their success. It was particularly pleasing to see such a broad cross-section of Jersey’s business, public and voluntary landscape recognised this year, whilst I am delighted that in John Henwood we have been able to recognise a remarkable individual who has helped shape Jersey life in so many ways. I would like to congratulate all the winners and those who were shortlisted, and thank our generous sponsors Appleby, Investec and PBS Media for helping to make this event such a success yet again.”

Here’s who they were up against….


James Filleul, Bailiwick Publishing
Vicky Milner, Callington Chambers
Alex Morel, ALX Training

Louise Bracken-Smith, Fairway Group
Glenda Rivoallan, Healthhaus
Phil Ruelle, Greenlight
Jon Trigg, Moore Management

Doug Bannister, Ports of Jersey
Niall McClure, G4S Secure Solutions
Rob Leader, C5 Alliance Group
David Padfield, Jersey Electricity

Richard Beaugie, JT Global
Christopher Marshall, Langham Hall
Richard Summerfield, JT Group

Brian Curtis, Community Savings
Lesley Harrison, Prison! Me! No Way!!!
Richard Rolfe, National Coding
Nicholas Winsor, Autism Jersey

Eamon Fenlon, Jersey Dairy
Neil Howlett, PwC
Andrew Scott-Miller, Race Nation

Share post:

more of this...

Related articles

Promotions at L’Horizon

Two team members at L’Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa have taken on new roles. Julia Ivanov who has...

take a seat.

Following a degree in Furniture and Product Design, local furniture designer Gigi Cooke is now manufacturing her unique...

A Sophisticated Palette

Interior Designers Bryony Richardson got in touch to let us know about a feature she’d had published in...

Viberts has joined forces with Lakey Advocates

Viberts has announced that it is joining forces with Lacey Advocates. Jersey Advocates Beverley Lacey and Michelle Cabot...